All news

EWMGL appears on highest taxpayer list for 8th time

EWMGL Achieve Second Highest Taxpayer Status (2022-23)

East West Media Group Limited (EWMGL), a concern of the country’s largest business conglomerate Bashundhara Group, has achieved the highest taxpayer status in “Print and Electronic Media” category for the 8th time in a row.

A notification, signed by Senior Assistant Secretary Nusrat Jahan Nishu of Tax-1 Branch of Internal Resources Division at the Ministry of Finance, confirmed the matter on 30 November.

The National Board of Revenue (NBR) has released the names of 141 companies and individuals with the highest tax payers under various categories for the financial year 2022-23.

EWMGL, the largest media house of the country, operates national English broadsheet Daily Sun, Bengali dailies Kaler Kantho and Bangladesh Pratidin, bilingual online news portal, television channels NEWS24 and T Sports and radio station Capital FM. Media Star Ltd, Somoy Media Ltd, and Times Media Ltd have also earned the status of the highest taxpayers this time.

Channel i Managing Director Faridur Reza Sagar has been nominated as the highest taxpayer to the national exchequer in journalist category. The Daily Star Editor Mahfuz Anam, Prothom Alo Editor Matiur Rahman, Channel i Director and Head of News Shykh Seraj and journalist Abdul Malek also secured their names in the list of top taxpayers.

The NBR has been officially giving tax cards and awards to the best taxpayers since 2016. It will hand over the tax cards to 141 tax cards to various individuals and organisations. Of them, there are 76 individuals, the rest are institutions. The cardholders will get special facilities.

SOURCE : Daily Sun