All news

Bangladesh Pratidin marks 12th anniversary

Bangladesh Pratidin marks 12th anniversary

Bangladesh Pratidin, the country’s most widely circulated Bangla newspaper, stepped into 13 years of publication on Tuesday.

The day was marked with pomp and ceremony at International Convention City Bashundhara (ICCB) in the capital.

Readers, well-wishers and dignitaries from different arena joined the daylong mega event.

Bashundhara Group Vice-Chairman Safwan Sobhan greeted Bangladesh Pratidin Editor Naem Nizam with a bouquet on the occasion. Joining the celebration, Agriculture Minister Mohammad Abdur Razzaque said Bangladesh Pratidin is a newspaper with a difference.

Lauding the daily for its objective journalism, the minster said the journey of 12 years is a significant chapter for any newspaper.

Speaking on the occasion, Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir said Bangladesh Pratidin has occupied a prominent place in the hearts of the people within a very short time because of its impartial news.

In her speech, Education Minister Dr Dipu Moni said the newspaper has been able to prove its excellence in the last one decade.

Former Minister Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury appreciated the role of Bangladesh Pratidin for contributing to the socioeconomic development.

Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal President ASM Abdur Rab, Jatiya Press Club former President Shaukat Mahmood, BNP Chairperson’s Advisor Zainul Abdin Farroque, Jatiya Party Chairman Ghulam Muhammed Quader, Bangladesh Kalyan Party Chairman Syed Muhammad Ibrahim, Water Resource Deputy Minister Enamul Haque Shameem, Jatiya Party (Kazi Jafar) Chairman Mostafa Jamal Haider, Dhaka North City Corporation Mayor Atiqul Islam, Disaster Management Ministry Standing Committee Chairman AB Tajul Islam, former State Minister ANM Ehsanul Haque Milan, World University Vice Chancellor Prof Abdul Mannan, Supreme Court Justice AHM Shamsuddin Choudhury Manik, Labour Party Chairman Mustafizur Rahman Iran, Dhaka Union of Journalist President Quddus Afrad and Bashundhara Group Deputy Managing Director Mustafizur Rahman also attended the programme.

Besides, East West Media Group Ltd (EWMGL) Director Imdadul Haq Milan, Publisher Maynal Hossain Chowdhury, Kaler Kantho Editor Shahed Mohammad Ali, Daily Sun Editor Enamul Hoque Chowdhury, Executive Editor Rezaul Karim Lotus, News24 Executive Editor Rahul Raha and Bangladesh Pratidin Joint Editor Abu Taher were present.

The 12th founding anniversary of the daily was also observed in Chattogram.

On the occasion, a gathering was organised at the daily’s Chattogram bureau office in the port city’s Kazir Dewri area.

Chattogram City Corporation (CCC) Mayor M Rezaul Karim Chowdhury inaugurated the programme by cutting a cake.

Chattogram Bureau Chief Reaz Hyder Chowdhury presided over the programme while Chattogram Deputy Commissioner Mominur Rahman, former CCC Mayor and Awami League (AL) Chattogram city unit General Secretary AJM Nasir Uddin and BNP Chattogram city unit Convener Dr Shahadat Hossain were present, among others.

SOURCE : Daily Sun