Pre-loader logo

Sayem Sobhan Anvir elected director of ATCO

Sayem Sobhan Anvir elected director of ATCO
Bashundhara Group Managing Director Sayem Sobhan Anvir, also the managing director of News24, a sister concern of Bashundhara Group, has been elected a director of the Association of Television Channel Owners (ATCO), an apex forum of the country’s broadcasting industry.ATCO formed a 15-member board of directors through a democratic process for the next three years at its 44th general meeting held at a city hotel on Saturday.

Some 19 candidates contested for 15 director positions of the forum.

Maasranga Television chairman Anjan Chowdhury has been re-elected as president, DBC News chairman Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury as senior vice-president and Desh TV deputy managing director Arif Hasan as vice president of ATCO.

Bashundhara Group owns two television channels — News24 and T-Sports. The industry leaders welcomed the representation of Bashundhara Group in ATCO for empowering the forum.

Other elected directors are Anjan Chowdhury of Maasranga Television, Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury of DBC News, Arif Hasan of Desh TV, Md Jasim Uddin of RTV, Md Liakat Ali Khan Mukul of Asian Television, Mahfuzur Rahman of ATN Bangla, Md Ashfaq Uddin Ahmed of NTV, Ahmed Zubayer of Somoy Television, Zahir Uddin Mahmud Mamun of Channel I, Dr Rubana Huq of Nagarik Televsion, Kazi Zahidul Hasan of Deepto TV, Abdus Samad of ETV, Abdul Huq of Banglavision and Tipu Alam Milan of Baishakhi TV.

Name Vote


Anjan Chowdhury 20 Maasranga Television
Tipu Alam Milan 20 Baishakhi TV
Arif Hasan 19 Desh TV
Mahfuzur Rahman 19 ATN Bangla
Abdul Huq 19 Banglavision
Md Jasim Uddin 19 RTV
Kazi Zahidul Hasan 19 Deepto TV
Ahmed Zubayer 19 Somoy Television
Md Liakat Ali Khan Mukul 18 Asian Television
Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury 18 DBC News
Dr Rubana Huq 18 Nagarik Televsion
Abdus Samad 18 ETV
Sayem Sobhan Anvir 17 NEWS24
Zahir Uddin Mahmud Mamun 17 Channel I
Ashfaq Uddin Ahmed 14 NTV
Mozammel Babu 7 Ekattor TV
Farzana Munny 7 Gaan Bangla Television
Ahmed Shayan Fazlur Rahman 6 Independent Television
Sheikh Kabir Hossain 6 Channel 24

Those who were defeated in the election are Mozammel Babu of Ekattor TV, Ahmed Shayan Fazlur Rahman of Independent Television, Sheikh Kabir Hossain of Channel 24 and Farzana Munny of Gaan Bangla Television.

ATCO president Anjan Chowdhury said the new committee will work for the betterment of the industry so that televisions channels can contribute more to the nation and its growth.

“All directors have been elected in a democratic way. We hope the new directors will play a vital role for the betterment of the industry,” Anjan Chowdhury, chairman of Maasranga Television, told the Daily Sun after the election.

Journalist leader Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury said the inclusion of young business leaders like Bashundhara Group Managing Director Sayem Sobhan Anvir will strengthen the ATCO board.

“Bashundhara Group is not only owners of two television channels, but a major player in the media industry in Bangladesh. Sayem Sobhan Anvir is associated with ATCO as director. The representation of Bashundhara MD will empower the organisation as well,” Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury, senior vice-president of ATCO, told the Daily Sun on Saturday.

He also lauded the role of the government for taking a courageous role to fix the serial number of projecting television on satellite and force the foreign channels to broadcast clean feed in Bangladesh.

Industry leaders said the new board of ATCO has the scope to modernize the satellite television industry in the country amidst the growth of social media.

“We have to introduce digital systems for cable operations. The system will benefit the authorities to measure TRP and the television stations can earn from subscription fees as paid channels. If we consider the local market of 30 million satellite connections, every television channel can earn significant amounts to reduce the dependency on advertisements,” Iqbal Sobhan, chairman of DBC News, added.

Source: Daily Sun

Copyright © 2023 Sayem Sobhan Anvir.
All Rights Reserved.