Pre-loader logo

Sayem Sobhan Anvir elected BAJUS president

Sayem Sobhan Anvir elected BAJUS president

Sayem Sobhan Anvir, the founder of the country’s first gold refinery in the private sector and Managing Director of leading industrial conglomerate Bashundhara Group, has been elected president of traditional trade body Bangladesh Jewellers Samity (BAJUS).

Sayem Sobhan Anvir, Managing Director of Bashundhara Gold Refinery Limited and Arisha Jewellers, dreams of exporting gold ornaments produced in ‘Golden Bangla’ of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman abroad.

Managing Director of Diamond World Limited Dilip Kumar Agarwala has been elected general secretary of BAJUS in the biennial election.
Sayem Sobhan Anvir, a renowned entrepreneur of the country, expressed his gratitude to the jewellery traders from across the country for electing the entire panel, led by him, for the 2021-2023 term.

The results of the election to the 35-member executive committee of the organisation were announced at the BAJUS office in Baitul Mukarram Market in the capital on Monday afternoon.

Alamgir Shamsul Alamin (Kajal), President of Real Estate and Housing Association of Bangladesh (REHAB) and Director of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industries (FBCCI), acted as the chairman of the BAJUS Election Board.

FBCCI Director Md Iqbal Hossain Chowdhury and Dhaka Chamber of Commerce and Industry Director Hossain A Sikder were the members of the election board.

FBCCI Vice-president Amin Helali served as the chairman of the Board of Appeals for the BAJUS election. The two other members of the Board of Appeals were two directors of the FBCCI — Dr Kazi Erteza Hassan and MGR Nasir Majumder.

According to the BAJUS Election Board, the newly elected seven vice-presidents are Gulzar Ahmed, owner of The Apan Jewellers; Anwar Hossain of New General Jewellers Ltd, MA Hannan Azad of Alankar Niketan (Pvt) Ltd, Badal Chandra Roy of Jarwa House (Pvt) Ltd, Dr Dewan Aminul Islam of Siraj Jewellers, Md Anisur Rahman of L Rahman Jewellers and Kazi Nazneen Islam Nipa of The Amin Jewellers.
Dilip Kumar Agarwala, Managing Director of Diamond World Limited, FBCCI Director and former Vice-president of the organisation, has been elected general secretary of the newly elected executive committee of BAJUS for the fourth time in a row.

The nine elected assistant secretaries are Masudur Rahman of Gold World, Samit Ghosh Apu of Fancy Diamond, Bidhan Malakar of Venus Diamond Collection, Md Joynal Abedin Khokon of Rizvi Jewellers, Md Liton Hawlader of New Sonartari Jewellers, Narayan Chandra Dey of Baishakhi Jewellers, Md Tajul Islam Lavlu of Moni Mala Jewellers, Enamul Haque Bhuiyan Liton of Gold King Jewellers and Mukta Ghosh of Purabi Jewellers (Pvt) Ltd.

Uttam Banik, owner of Messrs Kundan Jewellery House and Jaya Gold, has been elected treasurer of the organisation.

There are 16 executive committee members and they are: Owner of Grameen Diamond House and former BAJUS President Dr Dilip Kumar Roy, owner of Sharmin Jewellers and Diamond & Divas and outgoing President of BAJUS Enamul Haque Khan, Mohammad Babul Mia of Sultana Jewellers (Pvt) Ltd, Md Imran Chowdhury of The Diamond Sea, Pabitra Chandra Ghosh of PC Chandra Jewellers, Md Ripnul Hasan of Jewellery House, Alhaj Md Mojibur Rahman Khan of Rahman Jewellers, Bablu Dutta of Messrs Lily Jewellers, Md Shahidul Islam (MD) of Rajnigandha Jewellers Ltd, Joydev Sahaler of The Pearl Oasis Jewellers, Iqbal Uddin of Messrs Sajni Jewellers, Kartik Karmakar of Shatarupa Jewellers, Uttam Ghosh of Aftab Jewellers, Md Ferdous Alam Shaheen of Shaili Jewellers, Kazi Nazneen Hossain Zara of Zara Gold and Mohammad Aslam Khan of Royal Malabar Jewellers (BD) Ltd.

Copyright © 2023 Sayem Sobhan Anvir.
All Rights Reserved.